Hello Spring… Goodbye Convenience Items?

Standard
Hello Spring… Goodbye Convenience Items?

Banana Pancakes and coffee!

A WAY better combo than the combo of snow and rain outside… *sigh* 11 more days until beach life…

Am I late to the party in knowing that I can make myself a cup of coffee with my tea ball infuser? I am so pleased by this discovery, I think I’m going to get rid of my Keurig.

I’ve been holding strong and minimizing and packing to be ready for our upcoming move, y’all. I’m so proud of myself. No waiting to the last minute this time! That also means that we’re getting to the point where we’re starting to live without certain things or will start looking for them in boxes pretty soon… first example: our Keurig. I emptied it out so it can be packed and then realized I really wanted needed a cup of coffee to get going today. As I stared at the box of coffee asking myself if tea would cut it, a thought struck me. Why can’t I just put my coffee grounds in my infuser? Essentially coffee is made by passing hot water through coffee grounds, so what’s the difference between this and a french press or cold press? I know you’re supposed to use about 1 T of grounds per 8 fl oz of water, but my tea ball won’t hold that much. Resolution: I filled one side with grounds, heated up my tea pot, poured it over, and let it steep for maybe 3 minutes, and Viola! Coffee! It’s delicious and exactly what I needed.

As for you, Keurig… Where we’re living right now has such hard water, I’m having to clean my Keurig practically once a month to keep it running properly which effectively makes it MORE effort than anything else I could be doing that would give me a superior cup… not to mention the waste. To think I could have been doing this for the last year instead of spending countless hours running vinegar solutions and water through to clean the lines, figuring out how to take it apart to get rid of the bugs that took up residence inside (yes, that really happened and it was just as gross as it sounds), buying K-Cups then the reusable K-Cup… No more!

I think that’s it. Goodbye Keurig it was nice knowing you, Hello new infuser I am going to buy specifically for coffee.

***

Update on those Banana Pancakes I made at the beginning of February and next convenience item on the chopping block… Eggos, our relationship is over. I made the whole batch of banana pancake batter that my recipe produces, but since it’s just me and Hubs we didn’t come close to finishing them all. I cooked them up, put them in individual ZipLock baggies, and stuck them in the freezer.

That was over a month ago, this morning I heated them up in my toaster oven (while my coffee brewed), slathered some crunchy peanut butter on them, poured some warm maple syrup over the top, and it worked!! They are delicious and so much healthier than those “waffles” I’ve been eating. I’m keeping these in the freezer from now on.

Talk about healthy minimizing, y’all. I feel fantastic. Healthy changes for a new beginning.

This started off as a post about the stuffed peppers I made the other day, but I couldn’t stop writing about how pleased I am that I’m decluttering my diet, my day, and my home.

Don’t worry. Those stuffed peppers are still coming. 20150316_193526_Richtone(HDR)-1

One response »

  1. Pingback: Southwest Stuffed Peppers | itty bitty positivity committee

Leave a Reply

