It’s my party and I’ll yarn if I want to (Part 2)

Standard

In yesterday’s post we started the latest version of  my crochet hook/knitting needle case (I really need to find a shorter name for this)! Yesterday I left y’all the pattern for the wrap part of the case. Today we wrap it up with the pocket, pocket flap, and optional extra page! (didja see what I did there?)

20150221_02

Notice the slits in the pocket. I use those for easy access for things like sheets of sewing needles, buttons, tape measure, and my small sewing scissors. This way you can load the pocket up with all of your various stuff and not have to unload it to access the stuff at the bottom. The pattern is based on this older pattern I found on Pinterest, so I can’t take credit for all of it. Just the modifications I’ve made. Check out the post from yesterday to see the list of changes I made!

Stitches used:

CH – chain

SC – single crochet

HDC – half double crochet


Pocket

CH 19

Row 1: SC in the 2nd chain from the hook and in each CH across, CH 1, turn (18 SC)

Rows 2-5: SC in each stitch across, CH 1, turn

Row 6: SC in next 4 stitches, CH 4, skip 4 stitches, SC in the remaining, CH 1, turn

Row 7: SC in each stitch across, CH 1, turn

Note: when crocheting through the chains, insert hook under the top two  and over the bottom one. this gives a nice clean edge to your openings.

Rows 8 & 9: SC in each stitch, CH 1, turn

Rows 10-12: Repeat rows 6-8

Row 13: SC in the first 2 stitches, CH 9, skip 9 stitches, SC in the remaining, CH 1, turn

Rows 14-18: SC in each stitch across, CH 1, turn

Row 19: SC in the next 16 stitches, CH 1, turn

Row 20: In back loops only, SC in the next 14 stitches, CH 1, turn

Rows 21 & 22: SC in each stitch across, CH 1, turn; tie off after Row 22.

20150220_01


Pocket Flap

CH 15

Row 1: SC in the 2nd chain from hook and each chain across, CH 1, turn

Rows 2-6: SC in each stitch across, CH 1, turn (14 SC)

Row 7: SC in the first 5 stitches, CH 4, skip 4 stitches, SC in the remaining 5 stitches, CH 1, turn

Row 8: HDC in 2nd stitch skipping the first, SC in the next 12, CH 1, turn (decrease by 1, 13 stitches)

Row 9: HDC in 2nd stitch from hook as before, SC in the next 11, CH 1, turn (decrease by 1, 12 stitches)

Row 10: HDC in 2nd stitch from hook, SC in the next 10, CH 1, turn

Row 11: HDC in 2nd stitch, SC in the next 9, tie off.


Extra Page

Again this is optional. My case doesn’t have an extra page and it works just fine for me because I only crochet. What’s nice is the extra page has loops in both sides for hooks and needles!

CH 15

Row 1: SC in the 2nd CH from the hook and in each CH across, CH 1, turn

Rows 2 & 3: SC in each stitch across, CH 1, turn

Row 4: SC 1, SC in the back loop only for the next 11 SC, SC in last 2, CH 1, turn

Row 5: SC 2, SC in back loops only for the next 11 SC, SC in the last stitch, CH 1, turn

Rows 6 & 7: Repeat Rows 2 & 3

Rows 8-31: Repeat Rows 4-7

Row 32: SC in each stitch across, tie off

20150221_03Additional Notes:

I used buttons that were about 1″ in diameter.

The cord to wrap around the case was attached after the button was sewn on. I knotted 4 pieces of yarn on the inside, brought 2 pieces around each side of the button, and tied it to make sure it was secure. I then worked a fishtail braid for the rest. I think that’s stronger than a normal 3 piece braid.

Let me know what y’all think! I love seeing what others come up with.

As always, leave me comments and recommendations.

I’ll see ya soon with more projects!

Leave a comment