It’s my party and I’ll yarn if I want to

Standard

As I mentioned yesterday, I recently helped celebrate my friend’s birthday. She just so happens to be a fellow yarn enthusiast. When I showed her the crochet hook case I made for myself and told her how excited I was to make another, she graciously allowed me to design one for her.

This was more challenging than I’d expected. I really wanted it to be something that came from me plus I wanted it to function well for her. She knits, so I needed to make sure it fits her circular needles as opposed to my more uniform crochet hooks. I hemmed and hawed a LOT, but once I bit the bullet and made some decisions I came up with something good!

20150221_02

20150221_01

…at least I think so… so here goes!

I used my handy H/8 hook and some yarn I had in my collection. Unfortunately because it was yarn I had laying around it didn’t have labels, but it was fairly standard size and weight. The gold yarn I used however proved to be a challenge. It was about half the thickness of my typical yarn. I’m going to have to take it to the store to find something comparable. I’ll let y’all know what I find out.

This pattern is worked in four pieces. The case its self, the pocket, the pocket flap, and an extra page (optional). This post will be the case only. I’ll post again with the next three pieces!

Stitches used:

CH – chain

SC – single crochet

PS – puff stitch *modified: [YO, insert hook in the 3rd stitch in previous row, YO and pull through], repeat [-], {YO, insert hook in the 4th stitch in previous row, YO and pull through}, repeat {-}, YO and pull through all loops on hook.

HDC – half double crochet


20150218_01

      For gauging purposes, 15 SC = 4″

CH 53

Row 1: SC in 2nd CH from hook and in each CH across, CH 1, turn (52 SC)

Row 2: SC in ea SC across, change to the gold yarn, CH 1, turn20150218_02

Row 3: SC in ea SC across, CH 1, turn

Row 4: [SC x 3, PS], repeat [-] x3 (4 total), SC x 24, [PS, SC x 3], repeat [-] x 3 (4 total), change back to the white yarn, CH 1, turn

Row 5: [SC x 3, the next SC goes through the loops of the PS as shown below], repeat [-] x 3, SC in each of the next 24 SC, [SC through PS, SC x 3], repeat [-] x 3, CH 1, turn

the point of working the PS then crocheting through it is to create the textural detail without the stitch interfering with the use of the case20150218_03

Row 6: SC in each stitch across, CH 1, turn

Row 7: SC in each stitch across, change to the blue yarn, CH 1, turn

Row 8: SC in each of the next 3 stitches, SC in the front loops only (shown below) in the next 14 stitches, SC in the next 18 stitches, SC in the front loops 20150218_05only in the next 14 stitches, SC in the next 3, CH 1, turn

Rows 9 & 10: SC in each stitch across, CH 1, turn

Row 11: SC in each stitch across, change to the white yarn, CH 1, turn

Rows 12-31: repeat Rows 8-11 with the following color changes.

Row 17: switch from white to blue

Row 21: switch from blue to white

Row 27: switch from white to blue

Row 31: switch from blue to white

Rows 32 & 33: SC in each stitch across, CH 1, turn

Row 34: SC in each stitch across, change to the gold yarn, CH 1, turn

Rows 35 & 36: repeat Rows 4 & 5

Rows 37 & 38: SC in each stitch across, CH 1, turn, tie off after Row 38.

20150219_02

I use normal kabob skewers to block. I’ve run each skewer through the loops we’ve created by single crocheting in the front posts and its coordinating stitches above and below.

I’ll write up the pattern for the rest in the next post. Let me know if you try this how it works for you! I love recommendations. Here is the original unmodified pattern I found on Pinterest. I changed the length to accommodate her circular needles, changed the pocket flap to a hinged/buttoned flap for ease of overstuffing, changed the wrap pattern, I added an extra page to both help keep her circulars in place and keep her extra needles and hooks, and changed the closure.

This week Hubs and I are getting ready to go out of town for a friend’s wedding… in Hawaii! However this means a short week for me, so we’re gonna skip the weekly blessings and affirmation. Luckily last week’s challenge was so important I think it could use some extra practice. So keep being kind to yourselves. Spring is almost here!

One response »

  1. Pingback: It’s my party and I’ll yarn if I want to (Part 2) | itty bitty positivity committee

Leave a Reply

